Overlooked Band: 24 Gone

I listened to this band’s lone album again last night for the first time in a few years. It’s good stuff but now sounds a bit dated with all of the reverb and shimmering guitar effects. However, it should have made a bit more noise than it ever did. I’ll let All Music provide the biography:

Hailing from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, the guitar-driven sounds of 24 Gone was short-lived, despite the careers of musical counterparts like the Grapes of Wrath and Moev lasting much longer. But like their cohorts, 24 Gone created a lush and shimmering collection of tracks, something never totally achieving mainstream hype yet indie recognition. Composed of frontman Brian McCarrick, bassist Glen Murray, guitarist Zeljko Karlica, and drummer Brad MacGiveron, 24 Gone only released one album, entitled The Spin. Produced by Dave “The Rave” Ogilvie (Nine Inch Nails, Skinny Puppy, Marilyn Manson), The Spin was issued in 1990 on the Onslot/Oceana label, but quickly the label went bankrupt and all master recordings of The Spin were lost in the shuffle. Eventually the album went out of print and the band itself disappeared. McGiveron, Murray, Dave Genn (guitar), Pat Sproule (guitar), and McCarrick went on to form Deaf Surf Kiss, which was later shortened to DSK, right after 24 Gone’s demise. Bassist Rich Priske joined in 1994, but later he and Genn went on to play with the Matthew Good Band instead. In 2003, more than ten years after The Spin was originally recorded, the album was finally reissued by upstart indie The First Time, who included three previously unreleased tracks in a repackaged version that also featured new cover art. 24 Gone planned a summer tour in support of the reissue. ~ MacKenzie Wilson, All Music Guide

Here is the extent of video found on YouTube. It’s actually a fair audio recording though the video is a bit shabby.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.